Controlling Overwhelming Inspiration

Introduction

Hello and welcome to TamingDaimon, a blog used to document my personal progress as I try taming my own personal daimon and hopefully a way I can help others with the same problem. First of all, what exactly is a daimon? The ancient Greeks believed that people who were gifted with a specific insight into something, be it art or science, was not individually responsible for said insight. Rather they were bestowed this knowledge from a higher divinity they called a daimon. Daimon are essentially the same thing as the Muses (shown below) only seen as more of a personal spirit rather than a general deity.

the nine muses dancing around apollo

And apparently Muses dance a lot more.

That being said what do I mean be taming this daimon? Put simply, I mean learning to control having too much inspiration and creativity. Yes, I realize that most of you don’t see having too much creativity a bad thing and would probably give your less favorite appendage to have more creativity for work, but this inspiration and creativity overload isn’t the same thing as the inspiration you crave for work because it isn’t productive at all. Most of the time the inspirations come from the completely opposite direction you need it to come from, and when it does align with your work it’s too grandiose to suffer the tedious work required to get to finish or too fragmented to solidify in a single work.

The problem here is that inspiration overload is something that people have and is talked about, but is never quite resolved. There are ways to tell if you have it or are abusing the things that give you inspiration, but for as much as it is talked about I can’t find any conclusive ways to handle it other than the superficial answers we’ve all heard our entire lives like, “time management.” One reason may be that it commonly said that, “you can never have too much inspiration” and this leads to people thinking that they shouldn’t be upset at being overloaded, or that claiming so will make them seem “unworthy” of their gift. Personally, I’ve let myself get down about that very same argument. Why should I complain when so many others have trouble finding inspiration in the first place? After all, isn’t being creative good? Yes it is, but too much of a good thing can be a bad thing.

Watchu' know about bacon haters?

Except for bacon...

So after worry about this problem myself for some time, and being frustrated that I don’t know where to turn for help, I decided to make this blog to document my personal progress at taming this daimon in hopes that I can help others like me. I’m not promising that I’m going to fix myself or stumble upon some mysterious universal truth about how to handle the sea of ideas and inspirations that comprise the human race, but I do promise to give it my best shot and to let others know that they aren’t alone in this endeavor. If you’re reading this and struggling with inspiration and creativity overload as well, leave me a comment; let’s find a way to handle this together.

What do you think?

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

